innovation in metadata design, implementation & best practice

DCMI Virtual 2021

The theme of 2021 DCMI Virtual is Metadata Innovation. The programme will include virtual, invited and moderated sessions including keynotes, best practice sessions, expert panel discussions, invited talks, tutorials, and student and member forums, and will run from October 4th, 2021 to October 15th, 2021.


Each DCMI Virtual session will run in one of three 'time-slots', designed to increase the availability of the event to people in a range of timezones:

  • Zone A: 07:00 SFO / 10:00 NY / 14:00 UTC / 16:00 Berlin / 23:00 Seoul
  • Zone B: 24:00 SFO / 03:00 NY / 07:00 UTC / 09:00 Berlin / 16:00 Seoul
  • Zone C: 14:00 SFO / 17:00 NY / 21:00 UTC / 23:00 Berlin / 06:00 Seoul

Session recordings and presentation slides:

  • Soon after each live session, a link to its recording will be made available at https://bit.ly/dcmi2021 for viewing by registered participants in other time zones.
  • Several weeks after the conference, DCMI Virtual sessions will be posted on the DCMI YouTube channel and links to these recordings will be published on the DCMI website.
  • For speakers who agree to share their presentation slides, these will be posted to conference pages on dublincore.org website as they are made available to us.

Keynote Speakers


Eero Hyvönen

Eero Hyvönen is director of Helsinki Centre for Digital Humanities (HELDIG) at the University of Helsinki and professor of semantic media technology at the Aalto University, Department of Computer Science, where he directs the Semantic Computing Research Group (SeCo) specializing on Semantic Web technologies and applications. A major recent theme (since 2001) in his research has been development of the national level semantic web infrastructure and its application in different areas. Eero Hyvönen has published over 400 research articles and books and has got several international and national awards. He acts in the editorial boards of Semantic Web - Interoperability, Usability, Applicability, Semantic Computing, International Journal of Metadata, Semantics, and Ontologies, and International Journal on Semantic Web and Information Systems, and has co-chaired and acted in the programme committees of tens of major conferences.

Dan Brickley

Dan Brickley is best known for his work on Web standards in the W3C community, where he helped create the Semantic Web project and many of its defining technologies. Dan is currently working on outreach activities related to the Schema.org initiative. Previous work included six years on the W3C technical staff, establishing ILRT’s Semantic Web group at the University of Bristol, and more recently at Joost, an Internet TV start-up, and at the Vrije University Amsterdam. He has been involved with resource discovery metadata since 1994 when he published the first HTML Philosophy guide on the Web, and has been exploring distributed, collaborative approaches to “finding stuff” ever since.